You are currently viewing 78th Session of the UN General Assembly

78th Session of the UN General Assembly

New York: 78th Session of the UN General Assembly will take place from 18th September to 26th September 2023 at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. The 78th UN General Assembly was declared open on Tuesday, 5th September 2023, by new General Assembly President Dennis Francis. The theme of the UNGA 78th Session is “Rebuilding trust and reigniting global solidarity: Accelerating action on the 2030 Agenda and its Sustainable Development Goals towards peace, prosperity, progress and the sustainability for all“.

President Elect Dennis Francis

It is important to mention that the UN SDG Summit will take place from 18-19 September 2023 at UN Headquarters.

The aim is to “17 Goals to Transform our World“. 78th Session of the UN General Assembly is expected to bring some good impact on the nations while getting them closer to a greater cause of elevating humanity.

17 SDG Goals

Its annual Session starts each year in September. The general debate during the High-Level Week is the major event of each Session.

Heads of state/government and other senior government officials gather together in high-level meetings to discuss different global issues.

Read more: Good News: Imran Khan wins bail in several cases

The UN General Assembly is the UN’s policy-making organ. It is the only universally representative organ. There are currently 193 UN member states, and each member state of the UN has an equal vote.

UN General Assembly

The major role of the UN General Assembly is to discuss and debate various international issues and topics, including human rights, development, disarmament, international law, and the peaceful arbitration of disputes between nations.

UN Headquarters

Read more: Aditya-L1: India’s First Solar Mission

United Nations was founded on 24th October 1945, at the end of WWII. Representatives from 50 countries joined the San Francisco Conference and decided to draft and sign a UN Charter to maintain peace and security.

According to the Charter of the United Nations, the UN is based on four pillars:

  • Peace & Security
  • The Rule of Law
  • Human Rights
  • Development

The Charter of the UN is a foundational treaty of the organization that must be followed by all the members of the UN to maintain international peace and security. The United Nations has six principal organs:

  • UN Economic and Social Council
  • UN General Assembly (UNGA)
  • International Court of Justice
  • UN Trusteeship Council
  • UN Security Council
  • UN Secretariat

Furthermore, the UN has also been known to offer its diplomacy and peace-building services to many nations and areas around the world.

For more information, please visit Munafa Marketing.

Leave a Reply